• Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)
  • English (United Kingdom)

How a restaurant could use the Calculator

I use an example to illustrate how a restaurant could use the calculator and the results would look like: Assume that a restaurant is offering a voucher for a three-course dinner for two at a special price of € 50.00 (excluding drinks). Normally, this three-course dinner would cost € 107.40. The restaurant estimates that it will sell 300 vouchers. As the voucher does not include drinks, the restaurant assumes that it will earn on average another € 20.00 with drinks (e.g., wine, sparkling water, coffee).

The restaurant needs to pay the website, for example Groupon, € 25,00 per redeemed coupon. The restaurant additionally estimates that 80% of buyers actually redeem their voucher.

The restaurant estimates its cost to offer the three-course meal to be € 40.00. It also thinks that 25% of those who redeem a voucher would have come to his restaurant anyway and had actually eaten at the normal price of the three-course menu.

One of five consumers who redeemed their vouchers, that is 20%, will come back again to dine in the restaurant. The restaurant estimates that it will earn another € 200,00 with each of them.

Thus, the restaurant provides the calculator with the following numbers and obtains the corresponding result:

coupon calculator example

The restaurant will earn € 4,956.00 with the campaign, and the website who promotes the voucher, for example Groupon, € 7,500. Thus, the promotion is profitable for the restaurant and even more profitable for the website who promotes the voucher. Please note that these values do not explicitly include tax and tip so that the values might be slightly different in reality.

• Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)
  • English (United Kingdom)

Wie ein Restaurant den Calculator nutzen könnte

Zu Veranschaulichung des Rechenmodells ist hier ein Beispiel: Ein Restaurant bietet einen Gutschein für ein Drei-Gänge-Menü für zwei Personen zum Aktionspreis von €50,00 (ohne Getränke) an. Normalerweise würde das im Restaurant €107,40 kosten. Der Restaurantbetreiber schätzt, dass er 300 Gutscheine verkaufen wird, sowie pro Gutschein noch Getränke, z.B. Wein, Wasser, Kaffee. An den Getränken verdient er im Durchschnitt €20,00.

Dem Plattform-Anbieter, z.B. Groupon, DailyDeal, muss er €25,00 pro eingelöstem Gutschein zahlen. Der Unternehmer schätzt, dass 80% der Käufer ihren Gutschein auch tatsächlich einlösen werden.

Seine Kosten zum Anbieten des Drei-Gänge-Menüs schätzt er auf €40,00. Er vermutet außerdem, dass 25% der Gutscheineinlöser auch so in sein Restaurant gekommen wären und eigentlich zum normalen Preis das Drei-Gänge-Menüs gegessen hätten.

Einer von fünf Gutscheineinlösern, also 20%, werden später wiederkehren und noch mal Gast in seinem Restaurant. Er schätzt, dass er an jedem dieser wiederkehrenden Kunden weitere €200,00 verdienen wird.

Er gibt daher die folgenden Zahlen ein und erhält das entsprechende Ergebnis:

coupon-calculator-beispiel

Der Restaurantbetreiber verdient an der Aktion €3.456,00, das Gutschein-Portal 9.000€.
In diesen Beträgen ist allerdings noch die Mehrwertsteuer enthalten, so dass die mehrwertsteuerbereinigten Gewinne etwas niedriger sind.